Bishop and AI news

Stephen Hawking thinks computers may surpass human intelligence and take over the world. This view is based on the ideology that all aspects of human mentality will eventually be realised by a program running on a suitable compu...


Connection Science

All individual members of The Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour have a personal subscription to the Taylor Francis journal Connection Science as part of their membership. How to Acce...


Al-Rifaie on BBC

AISB Committee member and Research Fellow at Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr Mohammad Majid al-Rifaie was interviewed by the BBC (in Farsi) along with his colleague Mohammad Ali Javaheri Javid on the 6 November 2014. He was a...


Rose wins the Loebne...

After 2 hours of judging at Bletchley Park, 'Rose' by Bruce Wilcox was declared the winner of the Loebner Prize 2014, held in conjunction with the AISB.  The event was well attended, film live by Sky News and the special guest jud...


AISB Convention 2015

The AISB Convention is an annual conference covering the range of AI and Cognitive Science, organised by the Society for the Study of Artificial Intelligence and Simulation of Behaviour. The 2015 Convention will be held at the Uni...


Yasemin Erden on BBC

AISB Committee member, and Philosophy Programme Director and Lecturer, Dr Yasemin J. Erden interviewed for the BBC on 29 October 2013. Speaking on the Today programme for BBC Radio 4, as well as the Business Report for BBC world N...


Mark Bishop on BBC ...

Mark Bishop, Chair of the Study of Artificial Intelligence and the Simulation of Behaviour, appeared on Newsnight to discuss the ethics of ‘killer robots’. He was approached to give his view on a report raising questions on the et...


AISB YouTube Channel

The AISB has launched a YouTube channel: ( The channel currently holds a number of videos from the AISB 2010 Convention. Videos include the AISB round t...



AISB event Bulletin Item

CFP: ROBOCOMM International Conference on Robot Communication and Coordination

 C A L L   F O R   P A P E R S

			    ROBOCOMM 2007

		    First International Conference
	     on Robot Communication and Coordination
                     Athens, Greece

                  In-Cooperation with ACM SIGMOBILE

              Paper submission:   April 13, 2007
              Notification:       June 22, 2007
              Camera-ready copy:  July 20, 2007
              Conference:         September 10-12, 2007

Description  --- ROBOCOMM  is  the First  International Conference  on
Robot Communication and Coordination. As the name suggests, it aims at
the  convergence of  two  fields, acting  as  a common  forum for  the
Robotics and Communications research communities. The expected outcome
of  the event  is  to  promote cross-pollination  of  these two  areas
leading to growth in the capabilities of both.

Robotics is an interdisciplinary field that includes the following key
competencies:    mechanics,    control    theory,   electronics    and
communications.  Initially  the first  three areas dominated  in their
roles.   However,  in the  last  two  decades  we have  witnessed  the
unprecedented  growth  of  wireless communication  technologies,  with
increasing  attention given  to sensor  networks and  ad-hoc networks,
enlarging  the  possible  configurations  of  a  network.   Meanwhile,
building more than just one or two robots at a time has become cheaper
and more  common, thus opening a  whole new range  of applications for
multi-robot  systems with  networking capabilities.   Network robotics
offers  a  framework  to  study coordination  mechanisms  for  complex
systems  through communication  channels, thus  providing  the natural
common ground for convergence of information processing, communication
theory  and  control  theory.   Networked robotics  poses  significant
challenges,  requiring   the  integration  of   communication  theory,
software engineering,  distributed sensing  and control into  a common
framework.  Furthermore,  robots are unique  in that their  motion and
tasking  control  systems   are  co-located  with  the  communications
mechanisms. This  allows the co-exploitation  of individual subsystems
to provide completely new  kinds of networked or distributed autonomy.
Hence,  ROBOCOMM will  be  a leading-edge  conference where  prominent
researchers with different backgrounds will gather and merge different
ideas into a common framework  that will enable new applications based
on large scale networks of mobile robots.

A partial list of conference themes  that will be part of the ROBOCOMM
technical  program is listed  below. We  encourage discussion  of both
wired  and  wireless  networking  aspects for  robots.   Although  the
intended  focus   is  on   networked  robotics,  papers   on  advanced
communications  for  single  robot  systems  (for  tele-operation  for
instance) will also be welcome.

Authors are invited to submit their paper electronically in PDF format
by April 13, 2007.  The maximum  number of pages is limited to 8 pages
(10pt, double column, IEEE format).  The proceedings will be published
by ACM and will be available through ACM Digital Library.

Organizing Committee

General Co-Chairs: 
  Alan Winfield (UWE, England)
  Jason Redi (BBN, USA)

Vice Chairs:
  Luca Schenato (University of Padova, Italy)
  Francesco De Pellegrini (CREATE-NET, Italy)

Technical Program Co-Chairs:
  P. R. Kumar (University of Illinois,USA) 
  Magnus Ernquest (GATECH, USA)
  Kostas J. Kyriakopoulos (NTU Athens, Greece)
  Minoru Asada (Osaka University, Japan)

Technical Program Committee:
  Calin Belta (Boston University, USA)
  Jorge Cortes (University of California at Santa Cruz, USA)
  Emilio Frazzoli (MIT, USA)
  Vijay Gupta (Caltech, USA)
  Christoforos Hadjicostis (UIUC, USA)
  Ayanna Howard (Georgia Tech, USA)
  Chris Kitts (Santa Clara University, USA)
  Eric Klavins (University of Washington, USA)
  Naomi Leonard (Princeton, USA)
  Zhi-Hong Mao (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  Sonia Martinez (University of California at San Diego, USA)
  Mehran Mesbahi (University of Washington, USA)
  Kristi Morgansen (University of Washington, USA)
  Abubakr Muhammad (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  Todd Murphey  (University of Colorado at Boulder, USA)
  Natasha Neogi (UIUC, USA)
  Reza Olfati-Saber (Dartmouth, USA)
  Bruno Sinopoli (University of California at Berkeley, USA)
  Panagiotis Tsiotras (Georgia Tech, USA)
  Karl Henrik Johansson (KTH. Sweden)
  John Lygeros (ETH, Switzerland)
  Enrico Pagello (University of Padua, Italy)
  Dimitris Hristu-Varsakelis (University of Macedonia, Greece)
  Joao Tasso  (Porto University, Portugal)
  Cyrill Stachniss (Albert-Ludwigs-University, Germany)
  Francesco Vasca (University of Sannio, Italy)
  Rolf Johansson  (Lund University, Sweden)
  Benedetto Piccoli (Istituto "Mauro Picone", Italy)
  Anthony Tzes (University of Patras, Greece)
  Anders Robertsson (Lund University, Sweden)
  Mounir Mokhtari (INT/GET, France)
  Nikos Vlassis (TUC, Greece)
  Pedro U. Lima (Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal)

Steering Committee:
  Imrich Chlamtac (CREATE-NET, Italy),
  Alcherio Martinoli (EPFL, Switzerland)

Local Arrangements Chair:
  Evangelos Papadopoulos (NTU Athens, Greece)

Publicity Co-Chairs:
  Y. Charlie Hu (Purdue University, USA)
  H. Jin Kim (Seoul National University, Korea)
  Francesco Mondada (EPFL, Switzerland)

Publication Chair:
  Klaus Schilling (University of Wurzburg, Germany)

Industrial Sponsorship Chair:
  Roberto Sannino (ST Microelectronics)

Panels Chair: 
  Vijay Kumar (UPenn, USA)

Financial Chair:
  Karen Decker (ICST, USA)

Conference Coordinator:
  Zsuzsa Lanyi-Kaszab  (ICST, Europe)